Sure Care Health Associates

“Diplomat of the American Board of Internal Medicine and Infectious Disease”


Our clinic can provide quality care for patients with HIV, according to the latest treatment guidelines by the US dept. of Health and Human services and the HIV Medicine Association.

1.) Acute HIV Infection

Acute HIV infection is the earliest stage of HIV. Acute HIV infection can occur within 2 to 4 weeks after a person is infected with HIV. In some people, this stage of HIV infection can take up to 3 months to develop. During acute HIV infection, many people have flu-like symptoms, such as fever, headache, and rash. In the acute stage of infection, HIV multiplies rapidly and spreads throughout the body. The virus attacks and destroys the infection-fighting CD4 cells of the immune system. HIV can be transmitted during any stage of infection, but the risk is greatest during acute HIV infection.


2.) Chronic HIV Infection

The second stage of HIV infection is chronic HIV infection (also called asymptomatic HIV infection or clinical latency.) During this stage of the disease, HIV continues to multiply in the body but at very low levels. People with chronic HIV infection may not have any HIV-related symptoms, but they can still spread HIV to others. Chronic HIV infection can last up to 10 years or longer.


3.) AIDS 

AIDS is the final stage of HIV infection. Because HIV has destroyed the immune system, the body can’t fight off opportunistic infections and cancer. (Examples of opportunistic infections include pneumonia and tuberculosis.) AIDS is diagnosed when a person with HIV has a CD4 count of less than 200 cells/mm3 and/or one or more opportunistic infections. Without treatment, people with AIDS typically survive about 3 years.

What are the stages of HIV?

HIV stands for human immunodeficiency virus. It is the virus that can lead to acquired immunodeficiency syndrome, or AIDS. Unlike some other viruses, the human body cannot get rid of HIV.

What is HIV?

HIV Care